# UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA SYSTEM

CAMPUSES, INSTITUTES AND ADMINISTRATION

### **OVERVIEW**

The University of Nebraska System is the state's only public university system, made up of four campuses each with a distinct role and mission. Together the campuses enroll nearly 50,000 students and employ 16,000 faculty and staff who serve the state and world through education, research and outreach.

## UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA-LINCOLN

The University of Nebraska–Lincoln is the flagship, Big Ten research university, home to more than 24,000 students and the storied Husker athletics program. Chartered in 1869, UNL was the original, land-grant campus of what would become the NU system. Reflecting the university's commitment to agriculture, UNL is also home to the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources, which houses the statewide Nebraska Extension network as well as the Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture in Curtis, which serves more than 200 students in two-year programs.



### **UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA AT KEARNEY**

The University of Nebraska at Kearney is a residential university focused on undergraduate education. Previously the Nebraska State Teachers College, then Kearney State College, UNK became part of the NU System in 1991 and today enrolls more than 6,000 students who experience a private-school environment on a major public university campus.

#### **UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA SYSTEM INSTITUTES**

The University of Nebraska System also comprises three institutes that leverage the expertise of all four campuses to address key issues facing the state and world: The National Strategic Research Institute, which conducts national security and defense research through an exclusive partnership with the Department of Defense; the Daugherty Water for Food Global Institute, which works to address food insecurity with less stress on water resources; and the Buffett Early Childhood Institute, which is working to make Nebraska the best place in the nation to be a baby.

#### **UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA SYSTEM ADMINISTRATION**

The University of Nebraska System is governed by an elected Board of Regents, whose eight members represent districts across the state. The four campus student body presidents also serve on the Board.

Reporting to the Board, the president of the University of Nebraska System is the chief executive officer of the university system, responsible for carrying out the regents' strategic priorities and serving as the chief advocate to the Nebraska Legislature. Direct reports to the President include the system-wide chief business, academic, legal and information technology officers. Each campus is led by a chancellor who is the chief executive of that campus.